Look Inside

Sonata for flute and basso continuo vol. I

The sonatas for recorder and b.c. by Benedetto Marcello appeared shortly after their publication in 1712 in Venice in a pirated edition by Estienne Roger in Amsterdam. The Amsterdam edition is different in some details: it contains more articulation marks and the bass is provided with a more generous number of harmonic indications. In 1732 the London publisher John Walsh attempted to make the collection attractive for transverse flute players by presenting an edition which was partly transposed. Also the order was slightly changed.
Our edition is based on the first print, published in Venezia in 1712 by Gioseppe Sala. It bears the following title: Suonate a flauto solo/ con il suo basso continuo per violoncello ò cembalo/ di Benedetto Marcello/ nobile Veneto/dilettante di contrapunto/e accademico filarmonico/ et arcade/Opera seconda…
The source was respected as far as possible. The many obvious errors were corrected without mention. Additions from the part of the editor are clearly marked as such.

14.25 tax inc.

SKU: RS1036 Categories: ,
Weight180 g
Published Year





Angelo Persichilli,

Benedetto Marcello